Skip to content Skip to main menu Skip to utility menu

I’m a Schedule One offender, what does this mean? Task

A Schedule One offender is a person convicted of one of the crimes listed in the Children and Young Persons Act 1933. However, the term Schedule One offender has now been replaced with the term ‘person posing a risk to children’.

Schedule One offences are actions that cause harm to a child. The Home Office lists 119 Schedule One offences, but this list is for guidance only. There are further offences that could fall under Schedule One that are not on the list.

If you have committed a Schedule One offence, you will be considered a risk to children and you will be assessed to decide your level of risk.

The police, probation and prison services will decide your risk level through a process called Multi-Agency Public Protection Arrangements (MAPPA). MAPPA is a system where the authorities share information and work together to manage your risk to others.

MAPPA takes into account:

  • What your offence was and when it was committed
  • Your age in relation to the victim
  • Whether any threatening behaviour was involved
  • Your pattern of offending
  • The circumstances of your offence
  • Your attitude to the offence

After MAPPA has considered these factors, they will decide your risk level and category.

The three MAPPA risk levels are based on the amount of multi-agency work that is needed to manage offenders to keep others safe. Level 1 is the lowest level and level 3 is the highest. Your level can change based on your behaviour.

No. The levels describe the amount of work needed to manage offenders in order to keep others safe, whereas the categories describe how dangerous you are to others.

There are three categories of offenders managed through MAPPA:

  • Category 1 is for people who have committed sex offences and who have been placed on the sex offenders’ register
  • Category 2 is for violent offenders sentenced to imprisonment for 12 months or more or kept under hospital orders. Category 2 also includes some sex offenders who do not qualify for category 1 and some offenders who are not allowed to work with children
  • Category 3 is for other dangerous offenders who do not qualify under categories 1 or 2 but who are considered a risk to others

The Violent and Sexual Offenders’ Register (ViSOR) is a list of sexual and violent offenders and other dangerous people. Police, prisons and probation can all access the details of these offenders.

MAPPA will monitor the movement and behaviour of ‘persons posing a risk to children’, and offer support to reduce the risk to others. This might include:

  • Cognitive behavioural therapy (CBT)
  • Helping with alcohol or drug abuse
  • Monitoring by police and mental health services